South Korean pianist Yunchan Lim wins Cliburn Competition in 2022

Yunshan Liman 18-year-old South Korean pianist, who received an award sixteenth Van Cleburne Worldwide Piano Competitors On June 18 in Fort Price.

Second place went to Anna Jinyushin 31 years from Russia; The third place went to Dmitro Chunyi28, of Orkin.

As the primary prize winner, Lim take residence A gold medal, $100,000 in money, worldwide live performance reservations and administration for 3 years, and extra. The second and third locations are available in with silver and bronze medals, money prizes ($50,000 and $25,000, respectively), live performance bookings, and extra.

Cliburn Competitors Jury Chair Marin Alsop introduced June 18 onstage on the Bass Efficiency Corridor in downtown Fort Price. It got here on the climax of a grueling 17-day, four-round competitors held at TCU’s Van Cliburne Live performance Corridor and Bass Corridor. The preliminary spherical began June 2 with 30 opponents. The stadium was lowered to 18 gamers within the quarter-finals, after that 12 semi-finalistsafter which Six of the finalists who compete for gold.

Every finalist carried out two live shows with Fort Price Symphony Orchestra The socket is conductive.

operating power
Lim, who had superhuman energy in the course of the competitors, was the youngest contestant. He was praised for his bold programming, technical prowess, and astonishing execution. Critics particularly praised his full efficiency for Liszt 12 Transcendental Research within the semi-finals. (“Give him the gold now,” a fan might be heard saying within the corridor.)

Nevertheless it was his efficiency of Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto on the penultimate night time that introduced the home down. Cliburn’s webcast presenter Elizabeth Pleasure Rowe described it as a once-in-a-lifetime efficiency that left her almost speechless. She mentioned within the webcast afterward, “It is like he is a magician, he can solely conjure no matter he desires… He was stuffed with one thing divine tonight.”

Critic Wayne Lee Jay Wrote“We have not had such an thrilling Cliburn second since Olga Kern performed the identical enterprise right here in 2001.”

Equally, the viewers gave him essentially the most enthusiastic applause on the competitors, inviting him to return to the stage thrice.

A local of Siheung, Lim research on the Korea Nationwide College of the Arts and has carried out with orchestras all through South Korea. Coming to Fort Price, he instructed Cliburn that he “appears to be like ahead to enjoying in entrance of the warmest and most enthusiastic viewers on the earth.”

Further prizes
else Cliburn contest Prize winners are:

  • Viewers Award Carla and Kelly Thompson ($2,500): Yunshan Lim – South Korea – 18
  • Beverley Taylor Smith Award for Finest Efficiency in a New Work ($5,000): Yunshan Lim – South Korea – 18
  • Finest Mozart Concerto Efficiency ($5,000): Ilya Schmockler from Russia 27
  • John Giordano Chairman of the Jury Appreciation Award ($5,000): Marcel Tadokoro (France / Japan) 28
  • Raymond E. Buck Jury Appreciation Award ($5,000): Chang Younger-shin – South Korea – 28
  • Patricia and Neil Stephen Household Jury Advantage Award ($5,000): Andrew Lee, United States, 22

The three finalists had been with out medals Clayton StevensonAnd america 23 Ilya SchmocklerRussia 27 and Uladzislaw KhandohiBelarus, 20.

Stephenson, the one American candidate to succeed in the finals, simply beat the Fort Price crowd early within the competitors, and can be remembered by many because the prize-winner of the inaugural Cliburn Junior Competitors in 2015. His enjoying has been described as enjoyable and filled with charisma.

Ukrainian pianist Chunyi acquired a heat and beneficiant response from audiences each time he took the stage, and naturally, he attracted media consideration around the globe. After performing the final concerto, a girl from the viewers hurried to the stage with a bouquet of sunflowers.

Along with receiving money prizes, all Gold, Silver, and Bronze medal winners will obtain a “complete and customized profession administration package deal, which incorporates three years of live performance reservations, technical planning steering, conventional and social media coaching, logistical help, tax and monetary planning steering, in addition to to business recording variations and a full promotional package deal,” says Cliburn.

The jury that determined the winners consisted of Alsop, chair of the jury (US); Jean – Iflam Pavoisier (France); Alessio Pax (Italy); Rico Golda (Austria); Andreas Hefleger (Switzerland); Wu Han (Chinese language Taiwan / US); Stephen Hogg (UK); Anne Marie McDermott (USA); Orly Shaham (Israel/US); Lilia Zilberstein (Germany).

Of the 388 preliminary candidates for the 2022 competitors, 70 had been invited to display screen exams in Fort Price in March, and 30 had been chosen to compete in June.

The subsequent competitors sponsored by Cliburn shall be 2022 Cliburn Novice CompetitorsOctober 12-18 in Fort Price.